Excess Baggage

Excess baggage, both temporal and spiritual, has been a real problem this week.

After more than two years of planning, saving, and praying our schedules and financial situations would coincide, my friends and I are finally leaving the Garden State for a two-week stay in the Aloha State. Yes, the long-anticipated Hawaii trip will commence early this Saturday morning, and I have been quite busy preparing my belongings for the nearly 5500-mile journey.

(An aside: in the interests of accuracy, I just did a Google Maps search to learn the actual door-to-door distance. Once I entered in my NJ home address and the address of the Hawaiian condo, the site gave very precise driving directions. Yes, I said driving directions! Travelling northwest across the continental United States, the Google geniuses direct you from central NJ to Seattle, Washington in 28 easy steps. Step #29 reads “Kayak across the Pacific Ocean for 2,756 miles.” Since it might be too late to bulk up at the gym’s rowing machine, I guess I’ll have to fly instead.)

This past weekend I decided to amass all the essentials I need to survive for the two weeks in paradise. Clothing appropriate for every possible event and climate, the electronics I use each waking moment, long-saved reading material for the plane and beach, and other niceties were stacked around the room then forcibly stuffed into my luggage. My suitcase resembled a boa constrictor which had swallowed a whole pig and weighed about a third more than the airline’s stipulated 50 pounds. My excess baggage would weigh heavily on those little round suitcase wheels … and my wallet.

My spiritual life, too, is weighed down by sin. Tough I’m in church multiple times each week to cantor or report, I haven’t sought the grace of absolution nearly as often as I should. To rid myself of the excess baggage of sin will require the help of the confessional; I’ll ask a Catholic priest in our fiftieth state to confer Christ’s absolution for my shortcomings. Transporting my Jersey sins to an unsuspecting Hawaiian priest accustomed to hearing “I hit my sister with a coconut” or “I took my brother’s surfboard” might be a bit jarring, but God’s love transcends any
distance, over water or not, without the use of Google Maps or a strong-limbed kayaker.

So my goal from now until Saturday is to jettison the excess baggage: take out a few t-shirts, prepare for a good confession, and enjoy the lighter loads. I’ll give you details when I return; I predict God’s humor and blessings should abound no matter where I am!

About Christina Leslie

My relationship with God has always been close, loving....and humorous. I hope a peek into my life as a Catholic cantor, journalist, and "Fool for Christ" in central New Jersey can help you recognize the love He showers upon you as well!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment