A Hawaiian Covenant

I’m safely back home from my Hawaiian vacation, thank God. Though I thoroughly enjoyed swimming in waters the color of minty-fresh  mouthwash, seeing smiling faces everywhere, and navigating a language which resembled my tiles rack at the end of a game of Scrabble (too few consonants, too many vowels), I’m ready to step into my reality of journalist, musician, and hospital employee in hectic central NJ.

Deciding the two-week Hawaiian sojourn would serve as a mental “control-alt-delete” on the keyboard of my fast-paced life, I made some promises to God and myself for a few long-delayed attitude adjustments. But how do you co-sign a contract with God? Pinky-swearing hardly seemed appropriate, and my computer was back in the Garden State, so an email was out of the question. How could I mark the occasion? Then God gave me a reminder, the same one he gave Noah centuries before when He promised never again to send floodwaters to destroy the earth.

Each morning on vacation, I sipped my morning coffee while seated on the 37th-floor balcony of my cousin’s condo in Honolulu. The building, perched on the edge of the Ala Wai Canal, afforded me a 180-degree view of the Pacific Ocean and downtown Waikiki, even the extinct volcano Diamond Head. Often, rain clouds obscured the mountain’s peak, and I was treated to a brilliant rainbow as they dissipated. On the last full day of vacation, the phenomenon was particularly amazing: the multi-colored arc stretched across the sky for miles. I grabbed my cellphone and snapped the photo on the right, and said “Mahalo” (thank you) for the gift.

God added: This is the sign that I am giving for all ages to come, of the covenant between me and you and every living creature with you… As the bow appears in the clouds, I will see it and recall the everlasting covenant that I have established between God and all living beings – all mortal creatures that are on the earth. (Genesis 9:12-15)

Now, don’t go all “Bill Nye the Science Guy” on me: I understand the concept of light refracting through the raindrops and splitting into the R-O-Y-G-B-I-V spectrum. Though meteorological mumbo-jumbo might explain God’s little light show that morning, I know it was His hand stretched out across the years, from Noah and his descendants to me, as a promise of His help if I were smart enough to ask for it.

Whenever I behaved particularly abrasive as a child, my mother would sigh and say, “You could be so much nicer if you sanded off the rough edges.” Perhaps this new rainbow-promise, aloha-spirit Hawaiian experience will serve as an emery board for my personality; a little extra prayer and some humor might do the trick. Stay tuned.

About Christina Leslie

My relationship with God has always been close, loving....and humorous. I hope a peek into my life as a Catholic cantor, journalist, and "Fool for Christ" in central New Jersey can help you recognize the love He showers upon you as well!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Hawaiian Covenant

  1. Mary says:

    I will never look at an emory board in the same way again! Just wanted to thank you for sharing your trip and your always unique way of melding faith and life.
    When I find myself losing sight of an always healing and hopeful humor, I stop and ask myself, “What would Chris do–or write?” Love the blog!

Leave a Reply

