Jesus in My Travel Mug

One of my favorite Christmas gifts this year is a thermal travel mug from that ubiquitous coffee chain. You know the one: they seem to have a branch on every third street corner, and if you were to train a powerful telescope on the moon’s Sea of Tranquility, I’m sure you’d espy their logo right next to the American flag and Neil Armstrong’s footprints.

I clutch my new thermal travel mug tightly in my left hand each time I leave the house; it contains piping hot coffee to sustain me as I drive the roads of central New Jersey from home to church to assignment to hospital and back again. “Fill ‘er up!” I think each morning as I pour the coffee to its brim in preparation for the day ahead.

Often the roads I travel upon hold many surprises: a sudden stop, a bump, or a pothole often makes the hot coffee spill from the mug onto my clothes. Unless I’m sporting a navy blue or black blouse that day, I carry its mark (and “Eau de Colombian Roast” scent) all day. The spill during the turbulent journey lets everyone know who I am: an unabashed lover of coffee.

A priest friend of mine once told me it takes about 15 minutes for a host to dissolve in the human body; for those 15 minutes, you become a tabernacle, carrying the body of Christ within you wherever you go. Then I thought, aren’t our souls always tabernacles for Jesus’ love, our own faith-filled travel mugs which accompany us wherever we go?

If we acknowledge His love for us, a few sudden stops, bumps, or potholes on the road of life need not worry us. Our faith can be filled to the brim without worry of it growing tepid, and pouring it out upon others would be a blessing, not a mark of shame. A spill during the turbulent journey can make everyone know who you are: an unabashed lover of God.

Fill ‘er up!

About Christina Leslie

My relationship with God has always been close, loving....and humorous. I hope a peek into my life as a Catholic cantor, journalist, and "Fool for Christ" in central New Jersey can help you recognize the love He showers upon you as well!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

